Bryngarw Park Nuthatch

RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch – Jan 2015

This weekend was the world’s largest wildlife survey, something I have done for a few years now.  It’s very easy to take part and submit records and you can even do it in the comfort of your own home.  Visit the RSPB Website for information

On Saturday the RSPB had a stand at Bryngarw Park to encourage visitors to sign up.   Ranger Keith had strategically placed some logs baited with birdie goodies in front of the window which was quickly being devoured piece by piece by a couple of Nuthatches.

I decided to have a wanderand went to visit the Bryngarw Keepers in turn, and list the birds that I saw.   No sign of the Dippers on the river and a fairly quiet hour, but I managed 11 species. While enjoying a coffee and sandwich outside Cedars tearoom, I spotted my first Treecreeper, but he was too far away to get a decent photograph..

The Keepers were looking wonderful in the Winter sunshine and are always a source of inspiration.

On Sunday morning, I topped up the feeders in the garden, made a cuppa and got ready with binoculars, the RSPB online form and enjoyed a lazy hour watching the birds.  Some of the regular visitors were missing, but I did see the first Sparrow of 2015 to visit plus a Wren was enjoying flitting around in the leaf litter.  11 species in total, with a bumper number of 12 Goldfinches.

Results are submitted and it’ll be interesting to see what birds are doing well and which ones are declining.  I can’t remember the last time I saw a Starling in the garden, when they were regular visitors just a few years ago.

 

Leave a comment